Power of the Pen Regional Winners

Congratulations to Birchwood School of Hawken’s seventh and eighth grade teams who won several team, individual, and special awards at the 2023 Power of the Pen Regional Tournament at Kent State University on February 25.

The Birchwood teams are coached by Lorraine Tzeng, Jennifer Seward, and Allison Noga.
Team Awards
Eighth Grade – 1st Place
Seventh Grade – 4th Place
Regional Sweepstakes Award – 1st Place (third consecutive year)
Individual and Special Awards
Seventh Grade:   
Rhea Kumar – 7th Place
Reeve Vincent – 1st Place
Eighth Grade:
Haadeya Salman – 12th Place 
Joshua Gordon – 7th Place
Best of Round – Joshua Gordon 
Best of Round – Ayat Jaffar 
Platinum Pen – Joshua Gordon 
Platinum Pen – Ayat Jaffar 

Collectively, the Birchwood seventh and eighth grade teams earned enough “writers’ points” at the district and regional levels to bring home the Regional Sweepstakes Award for the third year in a row. Individual awards were granted to the top twelve writers in each grade at the regional level and to the best story of each round at the district level. Platinum Pen Awards were granted to district Best of Round stories that demonstrated exceptional quality; these stories are eligible to be published in Power of the Pen’s “Book of Winners.” 

Power of the Pen (POP) is an Ohio interscholastic writing competition where school representatives in teams of six demonstrate their imagination and writing skills. Thirty-four schools participated in this year’s regional competition hosted by Kent State University. In total, 107 seventh graders and 105 eighth graders each wrote three stories over the course of three 40-minute rounds.

“Birchwood students have been competing in the Power of the Pen competition since 1991,” said Lorraine Tzeng, Birchwood language arts teacher and POP coach. “The program coincides with our emphasis on a strong writing foundation sprinkled with creativity and imagination.”
Individuals who placed in the regional competition and recipients of the Platinum Pen Award are automatically eligible to compete in the state competition in May. Remaining state qualifiers are yet to be announced.